Page finalised 12th April, 2015.
Queries or problems? Contact the page editor John at 

'William' books | 'Jimmy' books

Other works | Richmal Crompton at Wiki

Just one page on Collecting Books & Magazines

Scene from the 1948 version of JUST WILLIAM'S LUCK.

William shows his 'sword' to Henry and Douglas; they're forming 'The Knights of the Square Table'.

One of numerous illos to be found of this movie and WILLIAM COMES TO TOWN, in COLLINS FILM BOOK, edited by Eric Gillett and published by Collins. A total of 12 pages is devoted to the two movies.

  Born Richmal Crompton Lamburn on November 15 1890 in Bury, Lancashire, England this author became famous for her 38 books featuring that quintessential English schoolboy William Brown. Richmal's first professionally published story appeared in the Girl's Own Paper (see STORY PAPERS) in 1918. Richmal had started out as a teacher and at this time was a classics mistress at Bromley High School Kent. She was stricken with polio in 1923 and despite this disability continued teaching until her doctor convinced her to give it up for her own good.
'William' was inspired by her brother Jack who travelled the world writing a number of books on his adventures. Richmal's first William book appeared in 1922 and she continued to write of his adventures until her death in January 1969. All 38 books were published by George Newnes London. Dymock's Sydney reprinted many of these book from the 1940s on.

THE WILLIAM COMPANION by Mary Cadogan ,Macmillan London 1990

All 38 books in publication order with date first published.

Just William 1922
More William 1922
William Again 1923
William the Fourth 1924
Still William 1925
William the Conqueror 1926
William the Outlaw 1927
William in Trouble 1927
William the Good 1928
William 1929
William the Bad 1930
William's Happy Days 1930
William's Crowded Hours 1931
William the Pirate 1932
William the Rebel 1933
William the Gangster 1934
William the Detective 1935
Sweet William 1936
William the Showman 1937
William the Dictator 1938
William and the A.R.P.
(a.k.a. William's Bad Resolution)
William and the Evacuees 1940
(a.k.a. William the Film Star)
William Does His Bit 1941
William Carries On 1942
William and the Brains Trust 1945
Just William's Luck 1948
William the Bold 1950
William and the Tramp 1952
William and the Moon Rocket 1954
William and the Space Animal 1956
William's Television Show 1958
William the Explorer 1960
William's Treasure Trove 1962
William and the Witch 1964
William and the Pop Singers 1965
William and the Masked Ranger 1966
William the Superman 1968
William the Lawless 1970


JIMMY (1949) and JIMMY AGAIN (1951)
From the jacket flap of 'Jimmy Again': In seven and three-quarter yo Jimmy, Richmal Crompton has created an entirely new character...whether tagging along behind his 11 yo brother Roger and his cronies Bill and Charles, a trio known as the Three Muskateers...or pottering about with his own friend Bobby, Jimmy goes through life with a light-hearted curiosity in anything likely to provide adventure. Both books (illustrated) were also published by Dymock's in Australia (1sts dated 1949 and 1951).

For Your Information
Richmal Crompton article in Collector's Digest Annual 1963: 'Some Pre-Bunter Stories for Boys' pp 71-3

There have been numerous
William tie-ins as well as movies and a TV series, which starred Dennis Waterman of 'Minder' and 'The Sweeny'.

The following list of Richmal Crompton's writings other than the William books was taken from The Woman Behind William, the biography of Richmal Crompton by Mary Cadogan.

William and the Artist's Model - 1956
The Innermost Room - 1923
The Hidden Light - 1924
Anne Morrison - 1925
The Wildings - 1925
David Wilding - 1926
The House - 1926 as Dread Dwelling in New York
Millicent Dorrington - 1927
Leadon Hill - 1927
Enter - Patricia - 1927
The Thorn Bush - 1928
Roofs Off! 1928
The Four Graces - 1929
Abbot's End - 1929
Blue Flames - 1930
Naomi Godstone - 1930
Portrait of a Family - 1932
The Odyssey of Euphemia Tracy - 1932
Marriage of Hermione - 1932
The Holiday - 1933
Chedsy Place - 1934
The Old Man's Birthday - 1934
Quartet - 1935
Caroline - 1936
There Are Four Seasons - 1937
Journeying Wave - 1938
Merlin Bay - 1939
Steffan Green - 1940
Narcissa - 1941
Mrs. Frensham Describes a Circle - 1942
Weatherly Parade - 1944
Westover - 1946
The Ridleys - 1947
Family Roundabout - 1948
Frost at Morning - 1950
Linden Rise - 1947
The Gypsy's Baby - 1954
Four in Exile - 1955
Matty and Dearingroydes - 1956
Blind Man's Buff - 1957
Wiseman's Folly - 1959
The Inheritor - 1960
Kathleen and I, and, of Course, Veronica - 1926
A Monstrous Regiment - 1927
Mist and Other Stories - 1928
The Middle Things - 1928
Felicity Stands By - 1928
Sugar and Spice and Other Stories - 1929
Ladies First - 1929
The Silver Birch and Other Stories - 1929
The First Morning 1936
Many thanks to the reader who typed this up for us.

Thanks to Davydde who also supplied us with the adult fiction list from 'Book & Magazine Collector'.

Back to Collecting Books & Magazines INDEX